Today I woke up smiling

Today I Woke Up Smiling

Today I woke up smiling.  My first thoughts were “it’s Monday and I have a lot of things to do and I can choose which ones I want to do when or not do them at all.”  Today I have only one obligation.  My regular Monday 10 am meeting with my staff and my business partner.

After that I am free to get the crap out of this room or finish getting my tax papers ready or clean house or read a book or write or work on my newest quilt or one I haven’t finished yet.  Guess I better make a list and prioritize it.  Top of the list? Write.  I fight making lists because it ties me into doing the things on it but I make them anyway because some days like today, I would probably just light the fireplace, make some popcorn and read or write all day.  That is not a bad thing but it is not what I really need to do today.  When I do that I want it to be because I chose to do that and did not have anything pressing down on me to make me feel guilty for enjoying the day.  I decided a long time ago to set aside time to play and relax.  When I set that time I can do anything my heart desires and feel free to do it.

So I was talking about making a list of things to do.  I just took a minute to do that. Now to prioritize.

I made another list today too. Earlier in the quiet of the morning. Way before the sun tried to break thru the edge of night. During that space between dark and light when the earth pauses and takes a deep breath to get ready for another day. I was deep in thought and praise and you came to mind.  I made a list of you all.  All the women in my family plus all those women friends who came to mind as I was meditating this morning.  There were many.  Each one of you has a special place in my heart that no one else on the list or off can fill.  Each one has a special memory and a special joy connected with your name.  I am not sure where each of you are at this moment or am I sure where you are on this spiritual journey that we all are on.  I am sure that you each have a special place in my heart and a special place in the heart of God.

So I made the list and I called out your names and I held each of you up to God.  I asked for blessings for you and safety on your journeys.  I asked for peace and prosperity for each of you.  I called out your name to God and He listened.

Categories: earth, grace, retreats, sacred stories, story, storytelling, Uncategorized, writing | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.